

HOSPICE PETERBOROUGH 33rd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Thursday, June 24, 2021 Via Zoom

6:30 p.m.

MINUTES

Present:					
Karen	Auger	Dave	Curtis	Bill	Lockington
Carolee	Awde	Diane	Czarnik	Eleanor	Low
Shelley	Barrie	Marie	Dietrich	Beth	Mainprize
Brendan	Beamish	Pauline	Drake	Melissa	McCormack
Graham	Beamish	Heather	Drysdale	Karie	McDougall
John	Beamish	Wendy	Dunford	Sister Eileen	McManus
Nick	Beamish	Heather	Eatson	Sharon	Mehew
Mary Ann	Bell	Laurie	Elliott	Catherine	Millington
Mary	Blair	Rick	Firth	Theresa	Morris
Meaghan	Blodgett	Lynn	Galeazza	Aimee	O'Reilly
Sheila	Bourgeois	Iris	Gravel	Antonia	Palmer
Judy	Boutette	Paula	Greenwood	Wil	Pialagitis
	Bower-	Hajni	Hos	Otis	Smith
Elizabeth	Gordon	Marie	Hynes	Jacob	van Haaften
Mike	Bowser	Willis (Bill)	Ingram	Angela	VandenBroek
Kirsten	Burgomaster	Joyce	Kane	Natalie	Warner
Adam	Burns	Red	Keating	Donald	Watkins
Robert	Campbell	Margaret	Keatings	Sharon	Watkins
Anne	Campbell	Linda	Kehoe	Amy	Watson
Alison	Casey	David	Kennedy	Becca	Webster
Carol	Corner	Jeannette	Larsen	Amy	Willshaw
John	Corso	Anne	Leavens		
John	Cunningham	Leonard	Lifchus		

1. Welcome; Explanation of voting privileges; Approval of agenda.

Bob Campbell, President of the Board of Directors, welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and welcomed those present. He emphasized that those who may vote at the



annual general meeting include directors of the board, members of board committees, and all volunteers who have been active with Hospice Peterborough within the past year. Participants are asked if they are opposed to a motion, to voice their opposition so that we will reflect the opposition as well as abstaining from a motion.

2. Motion to approve the AGM agenda and the Minutes of the 2020 AGM.

MOTION: Be it resolved that the Agenda of the AGM of 2021 be approved and that the minutes of the AGM of June 25, 2020 be approved. Moved by: Shelley Barrie Seconded by: Marie Hynes

3. Financial Report

Bob Campbell welcomed Marie Dietrich from Grant Thornton. Marie provided an overview of the audited financial statements and their auditor's report. Financial Statements were available and distributed to members.

4. Motion to Accept the Financial Report

MOTION: Be it resolved that the Financial Report for the year ended March 31, 2021 be accepted. Moved by: Karen Auger Seconded by: Willis Ingram

5. Motion to Appoint Auditors for 2021-2022.

MOTION: Be it resolved that Grant Thornton LLP be appointed as auditors of Hospice Peterborough for the FY 2021-2022. Moved by: Karen Auger Seconded by: Heather Drysdale

6. Motion to ratify the new by-laws that came into effect on March 25, 2021.

MOTION: Be it resolved that the membership ratifies Hospice Peterborough's new By-laws that came into effect on March 25, 2021. Moved by: Len Lifchus Seconded by: Heather Eatson

7. Board Report

Bob Campbell reported that 20/21 was a difficult year with many challenges. Major accomplishments include the completion of the strategic plan, establishment of a Legacy Working Group and continued work on accreditation. Bob thanked Hajni and staff as well as Executive, Board and committee





CARRIED

CARRIED

CARRIED

CARRIED

members for their hard work. Bob thanked retiring board members Heather Drysdale and Bill Lockington for their leadership.

8. Nominations Report and Board Elections Kirsten Burgomaster presented the report of the committee.

MOTION: Be it Resolved that the following Board Members be elected for their first term: Margaret Keatings and Adam Burns and for their second term: Mary Blair and Len Lifchus. Moved by: Kirsten Burgomaster Seconded by: John Corso

CARRIED

9. Hospice Palliative Care Ontario's presentation of the 2021 Dr. Lawrence Librach Award for Palliative Medicine in the Community to Dr. John Beamish

Rick Firth presented Dr. Beamish with this prestigious award. John accepted with a deep sense of humility. He feels it is an acknowledgement of a superb team of care within Peterborough City and County. We have an integrated model in Peterborough, which is relatively unique in the Province.

10. Recognition of Board, Volunteers and Staff

Hajni Hos thanked board, staff, volunteers, community partners and donors for their time, expertise and dedication during this past year. She thanked the retiring board members.

11. Motion to Adjourn with closing remarks.

MOTION*: Be it resolved that the 2021 AGM of Hospice Peterborough is adjourned at 7:15 pm.* Moved by: Mary Blair

CARRIED

